The 2013 Clive Staples Award Winner

Here are our finalists in the order of their finish.


In the closest vote in the short history of the Clive Staples Award, in which we needed to consider the second and third place votes as well as those cast for first, we have our 2013 winner.

Here are our finalists in the order of their finish.

Number 5 Mortal by Ted Dekker and Tosca Lee

Number 4 Prophet by R. J. Larson

Number 3 The Throne of Bones by Vox Day

Number 2 Liberator by Bryan Davis

Liberator_CoverPublisher – Zondervan
Series – Dragons of Starlight, Book 4
Genre – young adult fantasy


For years, tales of dragons from another world kidnapping and enslaving humans have been circulating in Jason Masters’ world, while for a slave girl named Koren, the stories of a human world seem pure myth. Together, these two teens will need to bridge two planets in order to overthrow the draconic threat and bring the lost slaves home. The time has come as the long-awaited invasion of human forces looms. Jason, Koren, and Elyssa struggle to alert the soldiers to an unforeseen menace on the planet of Starlight—a deadly illness that already has Koren in its grip.

Starlighter Cassabrie harbors a secret she believes can counter the dragon king Taushin’s latest maneuverings, but she can disclose little of her risky plan. As Cassabrie fights to save her people, the dragon Magnar works to move the Starlight prophecy in his favor. His actions could make the plight of humans even more perilous. Wishing only to free the slaves and bring peace, a few young warriors are poised to face three armies as they battle for control of two worlds. Can love, faith, and courage be enough? Will Cassabrie be humanity’s last hope?

Review excerpts.

* This book captivates your attention from the beginning. I could not put it down! It is filled with action, love, sacrifice, and excitement at every turn.

* There are spiritual truths sprinkled throughout this fantasy story about heroes and villains, hope and despair, sacrifice and risk.

Number 1, the 2013 Clive Staples Award Winner

Starflower by Anne Elisabeth Stengl

starflowerPublisher – Bethany House Publishers
Series – Tales of Goldstone Wood, Book 4
Genre – fairytale fantasy


The Black Dogs Are on the Hunt, But Who Is Their Prey?

When a cursed dragon-witch kidnaps fairest Lady Gleamdren, the Bard Eanrin sets boldly forth on a rescue mission…and a race against his rival for Gleamdren’s favor. Intent upon his quest, the last thing the immortal Faerie needs is to become mixed up with the troubles of an insignificant mortal.

But when he stumbles upon a maiden trapped in an enchanted sleep, he cannot leave her alone in the dangerous Wood Between. One waking kiss later, Eanrin suddenly finds his story entangled with that of young Starflower. A strange link exists between this mortal girl and the dragon-witch. Will Starflower prove the key to Lady Gleamdren’s rescue? Or will the dark power from which she flees destroy both her and her rescuer?

Winner's PlaqueReview excerpts.

* “Fans of Tolkien and the darker talers of Faerie will be drawn into Stengl’s effusive prose and wonderfully scary worlds… a series to stretch your imagination over several long winter nights.” – USA Today

* The imagery is amazing, the setting so detailed, and the characters are a hilarious. I could barely put this book down for wanting to know what would happen next.

Congratulations to Anne Elisabeth Stengl!

Reposted from CSA

Best known for her aspirations as an epic fantasy author, Becky is the sole remaining founding member of Speculative Faith. Besides contributing weekly articles here, she blogs Monday through Friday at A Christian Worldview of Fiction. She works as a freelance writer and editor and posts writing tips as well as information about her editing services at Rewrite, Reword, Rework.
Website ·
  1. Very cool! Thanks for all your hard work, Becky (and team?), in making this award a reality. Hope it continues on!

  2. Teddi, thanks so much for your support. In the end, an award like this only works if readers vote. It’s not easy starting something like this–we depend on word of mouth to inform readers. Hopefully we’ll continue to grow and make the award better and better each year.


  3. Martin LaBar says:

    Thanks for doing this! (And all that led up to it.)

What do you think?