/ / Articles

2014 CSA Nominations Are Now Open

The first two rounds of the Clive Staples Award are still in the hands of readers, beginning with the nominations which we’re opening today.
| Feb 17, 2014 | 21 comments |

2014 CSA NominationsThe Clive Staples Award for Christian Speculative Fiction is once again sponsored by Speculative Faith and the Realm Makers Conference for Speculative Fiction. Like last year, the winner will be announced at the conference, but this year, rather than being held in the fall, the two-day event will take place at the end of May.

Added to that fact, the CSA committee is planning to have a panel of judges choose the winner from the top three books selected via readers choice. Consequently, the schedule for the CSA is somewhat abbreviated compared to last year. Here’s what it looks like:

  • Nominations: February 16-28
  • Voters read books and reviews (nominations featured on CSA blog): March 1-15
  • Readers vote for top three: March 17-24
  • Judges read finalist books and vote: March 24-May 15
  • Award Preparation: May 16-29
  • Award Announcement: Realm Makers Conference, May 30-31

The first two rounds of the award are still in the hands of readers, beginning with the nominations which we’re opening today.

However there are some requirements, both for the books that are eligible and for the voters who can vote. Here’s what you need to know.

Clive Staples Award for Christian Speculative Fiction

Recognizing the best in Christian Speculative Fiction

The books that are eligible must be all of the following:

  • Christian—either overtly or because of a Christian worldview
  • published in English
  • published by a publisher which has no direct affiliation with the author and which pays a royalty (i.e. not self-published, even through any of the services offered by publishing companies)
  • published between January 1, 2013 and December 31, 2013
  • in the science fiction/fantasy/allegory/futuristic/supernatural/supernatural suspense/horror category

Nomination guidelines

  • Because this is primarily a readers award, authors, agents, and publishers may not nominate books with which they are affiliated.
  • Those wishing to nominate a book must leave a comment including the title, author, and publisher.

Readers’ Choice Voting

Voters will be eligible only if they have read two or more of the books nominated. We want this to be a selection by readers of Christian speculative fiction, not just the fans of particular authors.

Below are standards to consider.

Standards for Clive Staples Award books:

  • Quality writing style and mechanics
  • Believable and well-developed world-building
  • Depth of characterization
  • Well-structured, unpredictable, and interesting plot
  • A central theme consistent with a Christian worldview that arises from the characters and events and is well-integrated into the story

If you would like to nominate a book for the Clive Staples Award, please leave the required information in the comments section below or at the award site.

Best known for her aspirations as an epic fantasy author, Becky is the sole remaining founding member of Speculative Faith. Besides contributing weekly articles here, she blogs Monday through Friday at A Christian Worldview of Fiction. She works as a freelance writer and editor and posts writing tips as well as information about her editing services at Rewrite, Reword, Rework.

Leave a Reply

Notify of

Dragonwitch, by Anne Elisabeth Stengl. 5th in the Goldstone Wood series.

Adam Graham

I nominate Failstate: Legends by John Otte.

Shannon McDermott

Merlin’s Shadow, by Robert Treskillard (Blink)
The Hero’s Lot, by Patrick Carr (Bethany House)
Dark Halo, by Shannon Dittemore (Thomas Nelson)
Storm, by Evan Angler (Thomas Nelson)

D. M. Dutcher

Never to Live, by Just B. Jones (Marcher Lord)
Nightriders, by Marc Schooley (Marcher Lord)

M. Ettrick
M. Ettrick

Captives by Jill Williamson (Blink)

John Otte

Amish Vampires in Space by Kerry Nietz (Marcher Lord Press)


Shannon McDermott

I’d like to add another: The Shadow Lamp, by Stephen Lawhead (Thomas Nelson)

Alyssa Faith

Dark Halo by Shannon Dittemore (Thomas Nelson)

Carol Gehringer

Truth Runner / Jerel Law (Thomas Nelson)
Shadow Chaser / Jerel Law (Thomas Nelson)
King / R. J. Larson (Bethany House)
Captives / Jill Williamson (Zondervan)
to suggest a few . . .

Donna M. Kilgore

I’d like to nominate “Rage’s Echo” by J.S. Bailey
Tate Publishing

D. M. Dutcher

I didn’t know J.S. Bailey had a new novel. I’m going to have to check that out.

Thomas Preston

The Shadow Lamp by Stephen Lawhead (Thomas Nelson)
The Shadow and Night by Chris Walley (Tyndale)
Sandstorm by Steve Rzasa (Marcher Lord)
The Ale Boy’s Feast by Jeffrey Overstreet (Waterbrook)

Angela Bell

I’d like to nominate: 
Broken Wings by Shannon Dittemore, Thomas Nelson.
Dark Halo by Shannon Dittemore, Thomas Nelson.
Captives by Jill Williamson, Zondervan.

Ralene Burke

I have 3:
Son of Truth by Morgan L. Busse (MLP)
The Ryn by Serena Chase (Candent Gate)
The Remedy by Serena Chase (Candent Gate)

Phyllis Lake
Phyllis Lake

I’d like to nominate 2:
The Sinners’ Garden by William Sirls, Thomas Nelson
Memory’s Door, James L. Rubart, Thomas Nelson


I nominate J.S. Bailey’s Rage’s Echo!!!